Future.Life.Happiness

Pancake Time!

Leave a comment

Hello,

p17

 

I can’t believe it’s that time of year again and I’m making pancakes! For me pancake day is the start of spring and brings back childhood memories of making the batter with my mum in our tiny kitchen, asking to flip the pancake and failing miserably then being able to be create with different flavours, however I usually just stuck with the good old lemon and sugar. Now days its more Nutella or maple syrup.

At the weekend I did a test run of making pancakes for today (or that’s the excuse I told myself). I love the think crepe style pancakes however this time I tried my hand at fluffy American pancakes.

The recipe I used was really easy and I knocked up a batch of pancake batter in no time:

You will need:

135g of plain flour

1 tsp. of baking powder

1/2 tsp. of salt

2 tbsp. of caste sugar

130ml of milk

1 large egg, lightly beaten

2 tbsp. of melted butter

 

1. Sift your flour, baking powder, salt and caster sugar into a large bowl. In a separate bowl lightly whisk together your eggs and milk, then whisk in your melted butter. (to melt the butter I used my microwave for about 30 – 40 seconds, keep an eye on it)

p1 p2p4p5

2. Pour your milk mixture into the floured (dry) mixture and using a fork beat together until you have a smooth batter. leave to stand for a few minutes.

p8

3. Heat a non-stick frying pan over a medium heat and add a knob of butter. Once the butter is melted add a ladle of batter. It will seem thick but this is how it should be. Wait until the top of the pancake begins to bubble, turn over your pancake. Cook until both sides are a lovely golden brown and the pancake has risen about 1cm thick.

p13 p14

4. Repeat until all your batter is used up (I got about 4 decent size pancakes out of this mixture).  whilst you cook your other pancakes, keep them in the over on a low heat.

5. Serve! You can be create with your toppings but my particular favourite is maple syrup.

p17

Topping ideas:

Jam

Fruit, yoghurt or maple syrup

Maple syrup and bacon (this is amazing)

 

Hope you have a great pancake day and spring is just around the corner now.

 

Love

Jess & SGO

xxx

SGO Logo Website

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

